TLM Short Story Competition, Winner Announcement


    The 2012 London Magazine short Story competition prizes were awarded at a champagne reception on the House of Commons terrace on Tuesday 22nd January. The first prize of £500 went to Sophie Hampton. Mary O’Shea and Neil Herrington were awarded second and third prizes respectively. The judges for the competition were Edna O’Brien, Cathy Galvin and Alison Macleod.


    The competition was sponsored by Newsmax. Ken Chandler the editor in chief of the magazine flew from New York to award the prizes.


    Our winter reception has become a fixture of the in the literary life of London. Lord Risby, Steven O’Brien and Grey Gowrie each spoke about the current dynamism of the arts in Britain.